Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 9th, 2007

Learning to ride was all about confidence for me.  Again bike riding was something I only ever did as a child, back when helmets weren’t compulsory! So getting back on a bike as an adult felt like I was learning all over again. My biggest concern was where to ride. You hear stories in the news of bike riders being hit by cars and it doesn’t give you confidence in the average driver to watch for you on the road. For your first few rides I suggest going along a path such as linear park, until you get your confidence, balance and fitness up. Just watch for the stray dogs, people walking and prams! It is also important to have a bike that is right for you. Make sure it is the right size and it suits your needs. Ask someone in your club to help you choose a bike and the shop you buy your bike from will also help.

Does anyone have any other ideas or advice for getting on the bike? Comment here.

Jo Robertson

Read Full Post »