Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 10th, 2007

Jeremy’s post

Just wanted to make sure people read Jeremys comment in the last post so I have put it up here!!! Make sure you get to the last paragraph!

Thanks Andrew,

All credit goes to Phil on the aquathlon though. I just do what I am told… Learnt that early on with the wife!!

Seriously, the club has had a huge year thanks to some absolutely outstanding efforts of all who have volunteered time to help. We have the opportunity to give just a little bit back, and it would be great to see everyone out there.

The little bit you are giving back isnt to the club, it is a way to say thank you to Darren, who has worked tirelessly this season organising events and sponsorship and helping keep this ship pointed straight ahead when various things forced us to change direction. It is a way to say thanks to Wilko, who organised our biggest race and helped us get to the position where we are based on the successful running of that event. It is a way to say thank you to all the family and friends who have all sacrificed their time to either support you or assist at our events.

Looking back at things we realise the most sentimental moments are moments of sacrifice, where we give our time to aid others reach their goals or pursue their dreams. I slowly realised this over the last few months being associated with the club, but it all came to focus when during Ironman, the faces on the volunteers were so proud,… of my achievements. I finished just under 13:50, and yet they were there the whole way, cheering me on, and supporting me, and I know that deep down when they got home that night and went to bed, after sacrficing their whole day to help me achieve my dream, that they lay there, even if just for one split second, and realised that I didnt complete one stroke without them, one pedal turn without them, nor one step without them… They were part of my whole experience and together, with everyone of them, I crossed that line!

Read Full Post »